Sponsors

Donate

Without your support, Drunken Boat could not exist.

Please donate today.

Upcoming Events

Calls for Submissions

General Submissions are now open..

We are currently accepting submissions for our inaugural Book Contest judged by Forrest Gander for Poetry, Hybrid or Translation Manuscripts. Deadline is June 25th, 2014. We are also accepting submissions for Poetry, Reviews, Translation, Fiction, Art, and Nonfiction (deadlines as noted per genre).

We are also accepting submissions for two special folios to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We are accepting submissions to the Poetry Comix/Animation folio, guest-edited by Michael Chaney and Marco Maisto and the Affrilachian Arts folio.

Radha Says

The final collection by award-winning poet Reetika Vazirani, published by Drunken Boat.

Excerpt | Purchase | Review

Hide-and-Seek-Muse

Annotations of contemporary poetry edited by Lisa Russ Spaar, published by Drunken Boat.

Purchase

Follow drunken_boat on Twitter



Subscribe to our mailing list

Search

We’re thrilled to announce a Guest Editor in Nonfiction for the upcoming issue: Suzanne Paola.

The theme for Nonfiction in Issue #15 will be The Body Silent, nonfiction on illness and the body, works that put into words that which cannot be named. In the tradition of “HIV, Mon Amour” by Tory Dent and “The Two Kinds of Decay” by Sarah Manguso, we’re seeking works that articulate the varied experiences of the body.

Susanne Antonetta (Suzanne Paola)’s most recent book, Inventing Family, a memoir and study of adoption, is forthcoming from W.W. Norton. Awards for her poetry and prose include a New York Times Notable Book, an American Book Award, a Library Journal Best Science book of the year, a Lenore Marshall Award finalist, a Pushcart prize, and others. She is also coauthor of Tell It Slant: Writing and Shaping Creative Nonfiction, soon to be available in a second edition. Her essays and poems have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Orion, Seneca Review, and many anthologies, including Short Takes and Lyric Postmodernisms. She is half-time professor at Western Washington University.

To submit to Paola’s folio, please visit www.drunkenboat.com/submissions.

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 27, 2011 - 2 Comments and counting

2 Comments

  1. [...] Susan Paola to edit a non-fiction issue of Drunken Boat. [...]

    Pingback by Lit Post! Lit Post! Here it is! Lit Post! | Ghost+Blog — September 30, 2011 @ 6:46 pm

  2. [...] Susan Paola to edit a non-fiction issue of Drunken Boat. [...]

    Pingback by Lit Post! Lit Post! Here it is! Lit Post! : Specter+ — October 7, 2011 @ 8:06 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.