Fabián Severo, translated by Laura Cesarco Eglin

From Viento de Nadie

Este pueblo e uma siesta nu meio das pedra.
As mesmas cara nas mismas caye.
Cada sinco año vienen i prometen pan
mas amañá e lonye
e a yenta se jubila.


Cuando yueve
la agua gasta los sueño.
Cuando seca
la calor aoga la vida.
U campo no quiere creser de verde
i u río no quiere moiar las maryen.


Nas noite en que noum poso dormir
porque los recuerdo noum paraum de ladrar
eu pido pra Iemanyá que tambéim cuide du arroyo.
El no tendrá la sal
que se presisa pra mové us barco
mas para nosotro la agua del es todo.
Sin arroyo,
se resecan us labio da vida
i noum temo nada pra cantá.


This town is a siesta in the midst of stones.
The same faces in the same streets.
Every five years they come and promise bread
but tomorrow is far away
and the people retire.


When it rains
the water wears out the dreams.
When there’s a drought
the heat drowns life.
The fields refuse to grow green
and the river refuses to wet the shore.


On sleepless nights
when memories relentlessly bark
I ask Iemanjá to also take care of the river.
It might not have salt
needed to move ships
but for us its water is everything.
Without the river,
life’s lips dry up
and we have nothing to sing.

Laura Cesarco Eglin

Laura Cesarco Eglin is the author of Llamar al agua por su nombre (Mouthfeel Press, 2010), Sastrería (Yaugurú, 2011), Los brazos del saguaro (Yaugurú, 2015), Tailor Shop: Threads (Finishing Line Press, 2013) co-translated with Teresa Williams, and Occasions to Call Miracles Appropriate (Lunamopolis, 2015). Cesarco Eglin has translated works of Colombian, Mexican, Uruguayan, and Brazilian authors into English. She is a co-founding editor of Veliz Books.

Fabián Severo

Fabián Severo (Artigas, Uruguay, 1981) is a poet, teacher of literature, and runs creative writing workshops. Severo is also the Academic Assistant in Literature for the National Administration of Public Education’s “ProArte Project.” He is the autor of Noite nu Norte (2010), Viento de Nadie (2013), NósOtros (2014), and Viralata (2015). In 2010 he received the Bronz Morosoli Prize for Poetry.