Kristin Prevallet

There was the past of the past,
        the paths of the past and their anti-paths,
                there were complex sorrows and antipathies
that come from talking to stones
        there was silence inside the chrysalis desire
                there were words
no longer speakable
        folded with us
                in our proleptic ashes and tombs.

-Rachel Blau Duplessis, from Draft 42: Epistle, Studios

Kristin Prevallet

Kristin Prevallet is the author of I, Afterlife: Essay in Mourning Time, an experimental elegy designed by poet Jeff Clarke and published by Essay Press in 2007; Shadow Evidence Intelligence, a book of conceptual confrontations with the form/content rift that occurred during the Bush II years, published by Factory School in 2008; Scratch Sides: Poetry, Documentation and Image-Text Projects, a book of form/content experiments written and designed in Quark and published by Skanky Possum in 1998. She is the editor of A Helen Adam Reader (National Poetry Foundation).

Most recently her re-vision of T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets, called “Everywhere Here and in Brooklyn,” was published by the Belladonna Collaborative and set to music by composer Colette Alexander. Recent poetic documents that blend conceptual and collaborative forms have appeared in VLAK: Poetics and the Arts, VIZ Inter-Arts, Rhythm of Structure: Mathematics, Art, and Poetics Reflection and the anthology I'll Drown My Book: Conceptual Writing by Women. A member of the Belladonna Collaborative, she works as a hypnotherapist in Manhattan.