Sponsors

Donate

Without your support, Drunken Boat could not exist.

Please donate today.

Calls for Submissions

We are currently accepting poetry submissions until 11/1/2014.

Radha Says

The final collection by award-winning poet Reetika Vazirani, published by Drunken Boat.

Excerpt | Purchase | Review

Hide-and-Seek-Muse

Annotations of contemporary poetry edited by Lisa Russ Spaar, published by Drunken Boat.

Purchase

Follow drunken_boat on Twitter



Subscribe to our mailing list

Search

Drunken Boat, online journal of the arts, seeks nonfiction on illness and the body, works that put into words that which cannot be named. In the tradition of “HIV, Mon Amour” by Tory Dent and “The Two Kinds of Decay” by Sarah Manguso, we’re seeking works that articulate the varied experiences of the body. This folio will be guest-edited by Suzanne Paola.

Deadline: November 1, 2011.

Please visit drunkenboat.com/submissions to submit.

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 28, 2011 - Comments Off

We’re thrilled to announce a Guest Editor in Nonfiction for the upcoming issue: Suzanne Paola.

The theme for Nonfiction in Issue #15 will be The Body Silent, nonfiction on illness and the body, works that put into words that which cannot be named. In the tradition of “HIV, Mon Amour” by Tory Dent and “The Two Kinds of Decay” by Sarah Manguso, we’re seeking works that articulate the varied experiences of the body.

Susanne Antonetta (Suzanne Paola)’s most recent book, Inventing Family, a memoir and study of adoption, is forthcoming from W.W. Norton. Awards for her poetry and prose include a New York Times Notable Book, an American Book Award, a Library Journal Best Science book of the year, a Lenore Marshall Award finalist, a Pushcart prize, and others. She is also coauthor of Tell It Slant: Writing and Shaping Creative Nonfiction, soon to be available in a second edition. Her essays and poems have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Orion, Seneca Review, and many anthologies, including Short Takes and Lyric Postmodernisms. She is half-time professor at Western Washington University.

To submit to Paola’s folio, please visit www.drunkenboat.com/submissions.

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 27, 2011 - 2 Comments and counting

If you like the design of our latest issue, you can purchase original one-of-a-kind art from designer Noah Saterstrom.

Click here to visit his Work-a-Day page and claim a coveted original for yourself!

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 26, 2011 - Comments Off

We’re pleased to announce that Drunken Boat Issue #14 is now live!

DB14 is a warm refuge from the chill of fall, with features on /Slant/Sex/, the second half of a collection of writing and art exploring the often taboo sexuality of woman-, trans-, and gender non-conforming-identified individuals, and The Bernadette Mayer Folio, a tribute to Bernadette and the work she has inspired.

Also with a folio of Contemporary Women’s Writing, an intermedia folio of Nonfiction Portraits, including an excerpt from Oscar Hijuelos’ latest novel and a performance piece by Quintan Ana Wikswo, and a folio of Poetry exploring sequences and long poems, and a folio of new video, sound, and web art.

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 20, 2011 - 1 Comment so far

Poetry submissions have been re-opened! Spread the fanfare!

Click here to send us your poetry.

Bookmark and Share

Published Sep 15, 2011 - Comments Off

Go further into the past »